Skip to content

Switching running Ubuntu to Lubuntu (14.04)

7. September 2014

I wanted to test if my netbook will run more perfomant on Lubuntu, with its lightweigth LXDE desktop. But I always thought I have to re-install the whole system…which is not true! In fact, it is soo simple…

While noticing, that I’m not the only one having this missbelieve…I found this simple solution!

Simply:

  • open: Synaptic Package Manger
  • search for: lubuntu-core
  • check it, agree and apply the change
  • wait for total download and installation
  • you can select now after booting the system (by clicking the small ubuntu-symbol) to start a Lubuntu

Additional modifications after installation:

  • install ARandR: sudo apt-get install arandr (I need it to manage multiple monitors)
  • change keyboard layout: Preferences / Keyboard Layout Handler (‘Tastatureingabemethoden’)
From → tutorial, Ubuntu

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

